Employee of the Year Awards

The Atlanta Federal Executive Board’s 43rd Annual Federal Employee of the Year Awards Ceremony was held Wednesday May 11, 2016.  This year’s event was a collaborative effort hosted by the Peace Corps, Eastern Region and the Atlanta Federal Executive Board. The awards program was a huge success, and the atmosphere was energetic and enjoyed by attendees from various agencies throughout the Atlanta federal community!

The awards program is a part of ongoing activities conducted by federal agencies in recognition of Public Service Recognition Week (PSRW), which has been celebrated during the first full week of May since 1985.  Celebrated this year from May, 2-6 2016, PSRW is a time set aside each year to honor the men and woman who serve America as federal, state, and local employees.  Throughout the nation and around the world, public employees use the week to educate citizens about the many ways in which government serves the people and how government services make life better for all of us.

We would like to salute all of the nominees who were recognized for their contributions to federal government.  We appreciate your hard work and dedication.  We wanted to especially acknowledge the award finalists and to identify the winners of the 2016 Employee of the Year Awards.  Please join us in congratulating the 2016 Atlanta Federal Executive Board Employee of the Year winners, they are:

Outstanding Manager Award
Kristin Kelling, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Outstanding Supervisor Award
Meredith C. Anderson, U.S.Environmental Protection Agency

Outstanding Scientific Award
Daniel Scheidt, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Outstanding Professional Award
Nathan Lietzke, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Outstanding Achievement in Diversity Award
Dr. Karla Taylor, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Outstanding Technician Award
Patrice Williams, U.S.Environmental Protection Agency

Outstanding Secretarial or Administrative Support Award
James Bellinger IV, Internal Revenue Service

Outstanding Award for Heroism (Individual or Group)
LaVern M. Turner, Department of Health and Human Services

Outstanding Team Award
CO-OP Wind Down Team, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Kitichia Weekes
Shannon Comage

Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service – The Thomas Liederbach Memorial Award (Individual)
Marcia Blane – Internal Revenue Service

Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service – The Thomas Liederbach Memorial Award (Group)
Kim Brown, Internal Revenue Service
Stephen P. Eaton, Internal Revenue Service

Outstanding Customer Service Award (Individual or Group)
Henry H. Slack,P.E., U.S.Environmental Protection Agency

Outstanding Employee with a Disability Award
Breon Fuller,  Internal Revenue Service

Outstanding Law Enforcement Award
Office of Inspector General, Office of Investigations, Health & Human Services
Derrick Jackson
Rick Burguieres
Kelly McCoy
Chris Covington
Edye Palma

Outstanding Partnership Award (Interagency)
Strong Cities Strong Communities (SC2) Team
Jamie Higginsr
Stephen P. Smith
Margaret Olson
Keriema S. Newman
Stephen D. Smith
David Egetter
Brian Gross
Anne E. Keller
Ed Fendley
Adam Klinger
David Glasgow
Raabia Budhwani
Jennifer Hughes

Outstanding Partnership Award (External)
Haile Gold Mine Team – U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Larry Long
Kelly Laycock
Richard Darden
Phillip Mancusi-Ungaro
Lee Thomas
Kip Tyler
Glenn Fernandez
Gina Fonzi
Anna Cornelious

Congratulations to these winners who represent the best in government.  We appreciate your commitment and dedication.  A tremendous thank you again to the hosting agencies:  Peace Corps, Eastern Region, Administration for Children and Families, the Internal Revenue Service, the Defense Contract Management Agency, and the Atlanta Federal Executive Board for hosting a fantastic event!